Latest News
Updates from the Living Wage Foundation

News: 2018 Living Wage Champion Awards Winners announced

The Living Wage Foundation has today announced the winners of the Living Wage Champion Awards 2018. The Awards recognise Living Wage employers and individuals that have made outstanding contributions to communities and industries by implementing and celebrating the Living Wage, and are proudly sponsored by Aviva, KPMG and the City of London.

Tess Lanning, Director of the Living Wage Foundation, said: 

“Congratulations to all our Living Wage Champion award winners and all those shortlisted. There was an outstanding collection of organisations who applied this year, and we were staggered by the incredible work they’re doing to promote the Living Wage. 

“Over 4,200 employers have now signed up to the Living Wage movement, and their leadership is making a profound difference to the lives of families and communities across the UK.”

In 2001 community organisers from Citizens UK brought together people from local institutions in East London to talk about the problems affecting their lives. Many of them were working in two or three minimum wage jobs and still struggling to make ends meet. The Living Wage movement grew from these findings, and in the following years has led to a pay rise for over 150,000 UK workers and put over £600 million back into their pockets. 

Living Wage Champion Awards winners are at the forefront of the campaign for a fair, Living Wage, based on the cost of living. 

The winners

Industry Leadership Award – Unlimited Potential
Industry Leadership Award – The Haven Wolverhampton
Industry Leadership Award – Penrose Care
Friendly Funder Award - People’s Health Trust
Recognised Service Provider Award – Enhance Office Cleaning Ltd
Living Wage Innovation Award (large organisations) - CIPD
Living Wage Innovation Award (small organisations) – Scotland Excel
Local Authority Leadership Award – Dundee City Council
Employees’ Choice Award – Childrensalon Team ltd
Civil Society Leadership Award – Jayne Sadgrove, Citizens Cymru Wales 
Civil Society Leadership Award – Barrie Stead, ShareAction
Civil Society Leadership Award –  Diogo Antao & Jose Mendes, West London Citizens 

6th June 2018
Back to News